Transition Planning

To qualify for accommodations, your child must be between the ages of 3 and 5 and have a disability that falls under one of the following categories set out by the Federal guidelines:

  • Autism

  • Emotional Disturbance

  • Deaf

  • Other Health Impairment

  • Speech/Language Impairment

  • Visual Impairment

  • Deaf-Blindness

  • Hearing Impairment

  • Cognitive Impairment

  • Orthopedic Impairment

  • Specific Learning Disability

  • Traumatic Brain Injury

  • Developmental Delay

To become eligible for these services, a child must be screened and assessed by your school system. Based on the findings, an Individualized Education Program (IEP) Team meets to determine eligibility and recommendations, which will be documented in an IEP to ensure the child gets what he/she needs to thrive in his/her educational setting.

It is important to note that according to IDEA, “parentally placed private school children” with disabilities may have different benefits available to them. The local education agencies (LEAs) give a proportionate amount of money each year from the federal government to provide services for these children. This means that some “parentally placed private school children” will receive services while others will not. The LEAs are required to meet with the private institutions and administrators in their area at least annually to discuss the plan for special education services. Since the funds provided for children in private schools are limited, parents typically pay out of pocket.

Please note: The above does not refer to private schools designed specifically for children with learning differences.

In Baltimore, through Maryland Preschool Services, there are 24 local school systems (23 counties and Baltimore City) that guarantee these programs.

Americans Live With an Autism Spectrum Disorder
of Children Have Been Diagnosed with a Developmental Disability